Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Hudson O'Neal - Champion

Hudson O'Neal - Champion

Hudson O'Neal - Lucas Oil National Champion

Max Blair - Rookie of the Year

Max Blair - Rookie of the Year

Max Blair - 2023 O'Reilly Auto Parts Rookie of the Year

Most Popular Driver

Most Popular Driver

Vote for your favorite Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series driver!

2024 Schedule

2024 Schedule

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 2024 Schedule

MAVTV Watch Anytime

MAVTV Watch Anytime

Watch MAVTV anytime on your favorite device!

O’Neal Defends Home Turf Night Before the Jackson 100 Victory


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

O’Neal Defends Home Turf Night Before the Jackson 100 Victory

BROWNSTOWN, Ind. (September 24, 2022) – Hudson O’Neal raced to the lead at the start of the 40-lap Night Before the Jackson A-Main and never looked back. The $10,000-to-win race that was postponed from Friday after several hours of light rain at the Brownstown Speedway.

Josh Rice tried to track down O’Neal after a caution came out with five laps remaining but came up short as he settled for second. Daulton Wilson finished in third followed by Mike Marlar and Spencer Hughes.

Tim McCreadie ran second to O’Neal for the first nine laps of the race until Wilson took over the runner-up position. Wilson held the second spot until Rice, who started sixth, passed him on lap 28.

O’Neal, the winner of the track’s most prestigious race, the Jackson 100, in 2019, climbed from his car to the partisan cheers from the track his family has raced at for over 30 years. “It’s pretty cool to be back in Victory Lane here at Brownstown. I knew coming in we had a pretty good hot rod for today. I knew we had a good shot. I needed to get the lead and get out front because I didn’t know exactly what the track was going to go. It ended up holding some moisture. I know it was top dominant, but it raced pretty good considering we are under the sun. They did a good job with the racetrack. We will go back and get ready for that 20 grand here later tonight.”

Rice, who has felt right at home at Brownstown in recent years, came home 1.174 seconds behind the winner at the finish. “I got to him there, he would have had to mess up for me to get by him. He was so darned good. It’s cool to see him run so good here. It was such a thin line up there. He’s got it. I watched him qualify yesterday and told him you’re crazy for running up like he was.”

Wilson made a dive-bomb for the lead on O’Neal for the top spot after a restart before falling back to third at the finish. “We got stuck there around the top. I had to mix it up a little and went to the bottom on that one restart. We were either going to win or run third. I hope it was pretty show for the fans. We gambled a little bit on tires, and it worked out.”

The winner’s Roger Sellers-owned, Double Down Motorsports, Rocket Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Lazydays RV, O’Neal’s Salvage and Recycling, Lucas Oil Products, Smoky Mountain Speedway, WR1 Sim Chassis, VP Race Fuels, Integra Racing Shocks, Dynamic Drivelines, and New Era Excavation.

Completing the top ten were Tim McCreadie, Brandon Sheppard, Earl Pearson Jr., Garrett Alberson, and Tyler Erb.

The action at Brownstown Speedway on Saturday night will continue with the regularly schedule 43rd Annual Jackson 100. Another complete show of Dirt Draft Hot Laps, Allstar Performance Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains is on tap. Saturday’s 43rd Annual Jackson 100 will be highlighted by a 100-lap, $20,000-to-win finale for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Night Before the Jackson
Saturday, September 24th, 2022
Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, IN

Allstar Performance Time Trials
Fast Time Group A: Hudson O’Neal / 13.006 seconds (overall)
Fast Time Group B: Ricky Thornton, Jr. / 13.385 seconds

Penske Race Shocks Heat Race #1 Finish (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): 1. 71-Hudson O'Neal[1]; 2. 39-Tim McCreadie[3]; 3. 157-Mike Marlar[2]; 4. 20TC-Tristan Chamberlain[4]; 5. 22-Skyller Lewis[6]; 6. 93-Zak Blackwood[7]; 7. 11J-Jarod Fleetwood[5]; 8. 14-Quentin White[9]; 9. H22-Brandon Hardgrove[8]

Summit Racing Equipment Heat Race #2 Finish (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): 1. 11-Spencer Hughes[1]; 2. 9-Devin Moran[3]; 3. 12-Jason Jameson[2]; 4. C9-Steve Casebolt[6]; 5. 1T-Tyler Erb[5]; 6. 17J-Greg Johnson[8]; 7. 71R-Rod Conley[7]; 8. 43R-Robert Tincher[9]; 9. 1G-Devin Gilpin[4]

Simpson Race Products Heat Race #3 Finish (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): 1. 20RT-Ricky Thornton Jr[1]; 2. 11R-Josh Rice[3]; 3. 1-Brandon Sheppard[2]; 4. 7-Ross Robinson[6]; 5. 99-Camaron Marlar[4]; 6. 76-Shelby Miles[7]; 7. 24-Jared Bailey[5]; 8. 25-Mike Benedum[8]; 9. T22-Tegan Evans[9]

Ohlins Shocks Heat Race #4 Finish (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): 1. 18D-Daulton Wilson[1]; 2. 46-Earl Pearson Jr[2]; 3. 32-Chad Stapleton[5]; 4. 58-Garrett Alberson[6]; 5. 18L-Trevor Landrum[7]; 6. 15-James Rice[4]; 7. 7R-Kent Robinson[3]; 8. 38-Derek Fisher[8]

Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): 1. 17J-Greg Johnson[4]; 2. 22-Skyller Lewis[1]; 3. 71R-Rod Conley[6]; 4. 1G-Devin Gilpin[10]; 5. 43R-Robert Tincher[8]; 6. 11J-Jarod Fleetwood[5]; 7. (DNS) 1T-Tyler Erb; 8. (DNS) 93-Zak Blackwood; 9. (DNS) 14-Quentin White; 10. (DNS) H22-Brandon Hardgrove

UNOH B-Main #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): 1. 99-Camaron Marlar[1]; 2. 18L-Trevor Landrum[2]; 3. 15-James Rice[4]; 4. 7R-Kent Robinson[6]; 5. 76-Shelby Miles[3]; 6. 24-Jared Bailey[5]; 7. 38-Derek Fisher[8]; 8. T22-Tegan Evans[9]; 9. (DNS) 25-Mike Benedum

Night Before the Jackson Feature Finish (40 Laps):
Night Before the Jackson Feature Finish

Race Statistics
Entrants: 35
Lap Leaders: Hudson O’Neal (Laps 1-40)
Wrisco Feature Winner: Hudson O’Neal
Arizona Sport Shirts Crown Jewel Cup Feature Winner: n/a
Brandon Ford TV Challenge Feature Winner: n/a
Margin of Victory: 1.174 seconds
Stop-Tech Cautions: Jarod Fleetwood (Lap 3); Ricky Thornton, Jr. (Lap 5); Chad Stapleton (Lap 9); Debris (Lap 10); Skyller Lewis (Lap 24); Ross Robinson (Lap 35)
Series Provisionals: Tyler Erb
Fast Time Provisional: Devin Gilpin; Jarod Fleetwood
Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Big River Steel Podium Top 3: Hudson O’Neal, Josh Rice, Daulton Wilson
Penske Shocks Top 5: Hudson O’Neal, Josh Rice, Daulton Wilson, Mike Marlar, Spencer Hughes
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Tyler Erb (Advanced 13 Positions)
Hot Rod Processing Most Laps Led: Hudson O’Neal (40 Laps)
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Brandon Sheppard
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Tim McCreadie
O’Reilly Auto Parts Rookie of the Race: Daulton Wilson
Dirty Girl Racewear Fastest Lap of the Race: Hudson O’Neal (Lap 2 – 13.741 seconds) Tough Break of the Race: Devin Moran
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Trevor Crittenden (Hudson O’Neal)
ARP Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Race Engines
Miller Welders Chassis Builder of the Race: Rocket Chassis
Dirt Draft Fastest in Hot Laps: Friday- Spencer Hughes (12.722 seconds)
Time of Race: 28 minutes 14 seconds

Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings:
Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings

Results are unofficial until Close of Business on the Tuesday following Race Day

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News
Live Timing

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign up to get news and updates in your inbox.

Sign Up

Championship Points

Championship Points

Official Merchandise

Merchandise Shop Now

TV Schedule

Full TV Schedule