Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Hudson O'Neal - Champion

Hudson O'Neal - Champion

Hudson O'Neal - Lucas Oil National Champion

Max Blair - Rookie of the Year

Max Blair - Rookie of the Year

Max Blair - 2023 O'Reilly Auto Parts Rookie of the Year

Most Popular Driver

Most Popular Driver

Vote for your favorite Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series driver!

MAVTV Watch Anytime

MAVTV Watch Anytime

Watch MAVTV anytime on your favorite device!

Never Miss an Episode

Never Miss an Episode

Never Miss an Episode

Tim McCreadie Wins First Ever Lucas Oil Series Visit to Huset’s Speedway


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Tim McCreadie Wins First Ever Lucas Oil Series Visit to Huset’s Speedway

Brandon, SD (July 19, 2022) – Tim McCreadie made it a memorable first ever appearance by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on Tuesday night at Huset’s Speedway. The reigning series champion and current points leader took the lead with ten laps to go to record his fourth series win of 2022.

In a hard-fought race that saw three different leaders McCreadie came from the sixth starting position for his 32nd career series win. Mike Marlar charged from the 12th position to finish in second. Tyler Erb rebounded from fifth after the last caution of the race to claim third at the checkers.

Brandon Sheppard wound up in fourth and new track-record holder Hudson O’Neal completed the top five finishers.

Erb bolted to the lead at the start of the 40-lap main event ahead of fellow front-row starter and pole sitter Garrett Alberson. Garrett Smith then made his presence known taking over the second slot on the second go round. Smith stayed in second until McCreadie got by him on lap ten as a hotly contested race for the second spot was developing.

Erb held the top spot until Ricky Thornton Jr. came through the field to grab the lead by lap 13. Thornton’s wall-banging effort kept him out in front until lap 30 when McCreadie pounced on the chance to take the lead on the 30th circuit.

A caution with 33 laps scored bunched the field one final time but McCreadie had smooth sailing the rest of the way on the restart to take the win by 1.942 seconds ahead of Marlar.

McCreadie, who entered the event leading Sheppard by 100 points stretched his lead out in the race for a dirt late model record $150,000-to-win points championship. “Hats off to the track prep guys, they did an amazing job tonight. They didn’t have it completely flooded, they had a hard base, and it built a big cushion and left some brown on the bottom so we could do what we love to do. That’s the most fun I have had in a car in three or four months. Hope the crowd liked it, it was an awesome time out here.”

“I followed Ricky for a little while and it was very beneficial to not lead early. They were stuck in their groove and I’m touching it in one and two and coming to the bottom off two. I was kind of flirting around in three and four to see what would work best for me and when we caught some traffic, I just think I was a little more maneuverable than the guys I was racing with at the time. Tonight was one of those nights I felt like we had everything clicking,” said the 48-year-old New York racer.

Marlar kept an impressive streak of top five finishes since last month as the veteran racer from Tennessee came home runner-up earning the hard charger of the race after starting on the outside of the sixth row. “It was a great racetrack. I am happy to be here in South Dakota in the middle of the week getting to race. We were able to roll the hub all night long. I moved out and ran the cushion a few laps up there. But I felt like I was down there where there was less traffic. Just running up front it’s fun to be in the race and sometimes when you’re running 10th or 15th you don’t really feel like you’re in the race.”

Erb led 12 of the 40 laps to finish the night out on the podium in third. “This is a great racetrack; it was a lot of fun. It was an awesome race. This is a beautiful facility and a beautiful racetrack. This is literally one of the favorite racetracks now. You can’t ask for much more here. Hopefully everyone here will tell a friend and bring more people next time.”

The winner’s Paylor Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, Mega Plumbing HVAC, New Point Lighting and Design, Bilstein Shocks, Racing for Heroes, Walker Performance Filtration, Baker Mitchell Company, The Aesthetic Haus, and SCT.

Completing the top ten were Garrett Smith, Ricky Thornton Jr., Garrett Alberson, Earl Pearson Jr., and Spencer Hughes.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary

Tuesday, July 19th, 2022
Huset’s Speedway – Brandon, SD

Allstar Performance Time Trials
Fast Time Group A: Hudson O’Neal / 13.207 seconds (overall)
Fast Time Group B: Spencer Hughes / 13.291seconds

Penske Race Shocks Heat Race #1 Finish (8 Laps, All Transfer): 1. 58-Garrett Alberson[2]; 2. 10G-Garrett Smith[3]; 3. 71-Hudson O'Neal[1]; 4. 18D-Daulton Wilson[4]; 5. 7-Ross Robinson[5]; 6. 99B-Boom Briggs[6]; 7. 10K-Shawn Kirwin[7]

Summit Racing Equipment Heat Race #2 Finish (8 Laps, All Transfer): 1. 1T-Tyler Erb[1]; 2. 20-Jimmy Owens[3]; 3. 20RT-Ricky Thornton Jr[4]; 4. 46-Earl Pearson Jr[2]; 5. 22-Gary Brown Jr[6]; 6. 37-Scott Ward[5]

Simpson Race Products Heat Race #3 Finish (8 Laps, All Transfer): 1. 1-Brandon Sheppard[1]; 2. 39-Tim McCreadie[3]; 3. 11-Spencer Hughes[2]; 4. 157-Mike Marlar[4]; 5. 76B-Blair Nothdurft[5]; 6. 91-Gabe Umbarger[6]

Huset’s Speedway Feature Finish (40 Laps):
Huset’s Speedway Feature Finish

Race Statistics
Entrants: 19
Lap Leaders: Tyler Erb (Laps 1-12); Ricky Thornton, Jr. (Laps 13-29); Tim McCreadie (Laps 30-40)
Wrisco Feature Winner: Tim McCreadie
Arizona Sport Shirts Crown Jewel Cup Feature Winner: n/a
Brandon Ford TV Challenge Feature Winner: n/a
Margin of Victory: 1.942 seconds
Stop-Tech Cautions: Boom Briggs (Lap 9); Scott Ward, Gary Brown, Jr. (Lap 12); Blair Nothdurft (Lap 14); Gabe Umbarger (Lap 33)
Series Provisionals: n/a
Fast Time Provisional: n/a
Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Track Provisionals: n/a
Big River Steel Podium Top 3: Tim McCreadie, Mike Marlar, Tyler Erb
Penske Shocks Top 5: Tim McCreadie, Mike Marlar, Tyler Erb, Brandon Sheppard, Hudson O’Neal
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Mike Marlar (Advanced 10 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Tim McCreadie
Hot Rod Processing Most Laps Led: Ricky Thornton, Jr. (17 Laps)
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Tyler Erb
O’Reilly Auto Parts Rookie of the Race: Garrett Alberson
Dirty Girl Racewear Fastest Lap of the Race: Tyler Erb (Lap 3 – 14.250 seconds) Tough Break of the Race: Ricky Thornton, Jr.
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: JC Crockett (Tim McCreadie)
ARP Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines
Miller Welders Chassis Builder of the Race: Longhorn Chassis
Dirt Draft Fastest in Hot Laps: Tyler Erb (13.8326 seconds)
Time of Race: 23 minutes 45 seconds

Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings:
Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings

Results are unofficial until Close of Business on the Tuesday following Race Day

Back to News
Live Timing

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign up to get news and updates in your inbox.

Sign Up

Championship Points

Championship Points

Official Merchandise

Merchandise Shop Now

TV Schedule

Full TV Schedule