Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
All-Tech 2023 Speedweeks

All-Tech 2023 Speedweeks

All-Tech Raceway

2023 Schedule

2023 Schedule

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 2023 Schedule

MAVTV Watch Anytime

MAVTV Watch Anytime

Watch MAVTV anytime on your favorite device!

Never Miss an Episode

Never Miss an Episode

Never Miss an Episode

National Medal of Honor Museum
Rick Eckert Charges Late to Win Port Royal


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Rick Eckert Charges Late to Win Port Royal

PORT ROYAL, PA (April 23, 2017) Rick Eckert took the lead on lap 39 from Gregg Satterlee and went on to win his third career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race on Sunday night at Port Royal Speedway. In the series’ first ever visit to the track; Pennsylvania drivers swept the top three spots. With the win, Eckert became the ninth different winner in LOLMDS competition this season.

Satterlee led the first 38 laps of the race and finished in second with fellow Keystone State driver, Mason Zeigler coming home in third. Josh Richards rallied from the 15th starting spot to finish fourth. Tim McCreadie who ran as high as second in the race came home in fifth.

“It was an awesome race track tonight. You could run low, middle, or high. This facility has turned out to be one of the best in the nation. It’s one of the best kept secrets out there. I couldn’t get going early-on and I dropped back a few spots, but I finally found a line that worked well and we were able to get back to the front,” said the 51-year-old, who recorded his fourth career win at Port Royal.

“The frontrunners started fading a bit, and that’s when I started gaining on them. We had a good restart there and that made all the difference. He [Satterlee] got out in front and I thought it was going to be a long night for the rest of us, but those caution flags kept it close.”

“This is why people keep coming back here. Not only is the facility nice, but they run an efficient program, and the track is raceable from start to finish the entire night. All I can say is that things are going to keep getting better and better for this place,” said Eckert, who started fifth in the race.

Eckert’s Paul Crowl-owned Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Priority Construction, P&J Contracting, S&L Trucking, Monumental Paving and Excavating, American Tennis Courts, Viper Risk Management, American Paving Fabrics, S.L. Shenberger Dump Truck Services, Eckert Trucking, Penske Shocks and Cornett Engines.

Satterlee’s, Gary Satterlee-owned, Satterlee Petroleum, Rocket Chassis was the car to beat for most of the race. He tried valiantly in the final laps to track down Eckert, but with three laps to go, contact with the turn two wall hurt his momentum. “I hate to lose a race like that. We had a great car all night. This is one of my favorite tracks and we always seem to run well here. They had a large crowd here tonight and you want to win in front of them. Rick [Eckert] had a good car. The cushion started to get thinner and thinner up against the wall.”

Zeigler, driving for veteran car owner, Barry Klinedinst, came home in third to complete the homestate sweep.. “These guys gave me a good car tonight. This car always has run well in this region. I want to thank them for giving me the opportunity to drive for them. This place is incredible. It doesn’t get the recognition like it should. There are a lot of good drivers in this area.”

Completing the top ten were Don O’Neal, Dennis Erb Jr., Jimmy Owens, Earl Pearson Jr., and Darrell Lanigan.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Sunday, April 23rd, 2017
Port Royal Speedway – Port Royal, PA

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Dennis Erb Jr. / 18.492 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Brandon Sheppard / 18.953 seconds

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Gregg Satterlee, Rick Eckert, Darrell Lanigan, Austin Hubbard, Coleby Frye, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jeff Rine, Pancho Lawler, Hayes Mattern, Patrick Bryner, Jim Yoder

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Tim McCreadie, Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Josh Richards, Nick Dickson, Colton Flinner, Dylan Yoder, Timothy Wilson, Dave Brouse, Jr., Dan Stone

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Brandon Sheppard, Mason Zeigler, Hudson O'Neal, Matt Cosner, Steve Francis, Kyle Lee, Larry Baer, Chad Myers, Kenny Moreland, Jason Covert

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Don O'Neal, Chad Hollenbeck, Boom Briggs, Gary Stuhler, Andy Haus, Trent Brenneman, Tim Smith, Jr., Mike Lupfer, Steve Campbell, Earl Pearson, Jr.

Penske Racing Shocks B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Coleby Frye, Dennis Erb, Jr., Nick Dickson, Jeff Rine, Timothy Wilson, Dave Brouse, Jr., Colton Flinner, Hayes Mattern, Jim Yoder, Patrick Bryner, Pancho Lawler, Dylan Yoder-DNS, Dan Stone-DNS

Fast Shafts B-Main #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Steve Francis, Kyle Lee, Trent Brenneman, Earl Pearson, Jr., Larry Baer, Kenny Moreland, Mike Lupfer, Tim Smith, Jr., Chad Myers, Andy Haus-DNS, Steve Campbell-DNS, Jason Covert-DNS

Feature Finish (50 Laps):
1 5 7 Rick Eckert York, PA $10,000
2 1 22 Gregg Satterlee Rochester Mills, PA $6,400
3 6 43A Mason Zeigler Chalk Hill, PA $3,500
4 15 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $3,450
5 3 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $2,950
6 4 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN $2,600
7 19 28E Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL $2,300
8 7 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $2,100
9 23 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL $2,000
10 9 14 Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $1,800
11 11 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN $2,075
12 2 1S Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $1,050
13 10 71 Hudson O'Neal Martinsville, IN $1,725
14 14 66c Matt Cosner Ridgeley, WV $1,000
15 13 11 Austin Hubbard Bridgeville, DE $950
16 16 55 Gary Stuhler Greencastle, PA $925
17 17 0v Coleby Frye Dover, PA $900
18 18 15 Steve Francis Bowling Green, KY $1,575
19 12 99B Boom Briggs Bear Lake, PA $1,550
20 8 4-Ds Chad Hollenbeck Montrose, PA $825
21 22 33 Trent Brenneman Port Royal, PA $800
22 25 6 Mike Lupfer Shermansdale, PA $800
23 20 2T Kyle Lee Mercersburg, PA $800
24 24 75 Colton Flinner Allison Park, PA $800
25 21 17d Nick Dickson Lewistown, PA $800

Race Statistics
Entrants: 41
Lap Leaders: Gregg Satterlee (Laps 1 – 38); Rick Eckert (Laps 39 – 50)
Cautions: Colton Flinner (Lap 20); Boom Briggs (Lap 30); Scott Bloomquist (Lap 36); Steve Francis (Lap 46)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Earl Pearson Jr., Colton Flinner
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Wrisco Feature Winner: Rick Eckert
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Earl Pearson Jr. (Started: 23rd; Finished: 9th; Advanced 14 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Scott Bloomquist
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Scott Bloomquist
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Josh Richards
Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: Gregg Satterlee
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Longhorn Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Robbie Allen (Gregg Satterlee)
Fastest Lap of the Race: Gregg Satterlee (Lap #4 – 21.092 seconds)
Safecraft Most Laps Led: Gregg Satterlee (38 Laps)
PFC Brakes Pole Award: Gregg Satterlee
Time of Race: 32 minutes 27 seconds

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News
Live Timing

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign up to get news and updates in your inbox.

Sign Up

Championship Points

Championship Points

Official Merchandise

Merchandise Shop Now

TV Schedule

Full TV Schedule