Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
2024 Schedule

2024 Schedule

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 2024 Schedule

Buzz E-Bike

Buzz E-Bike

Register to win a Buzz Electric Bicycle

Dave Warren Powersports

Dave Warren Powersports

Register to win a Segway SxS from Dave Warren Powersports

MAVTV Watch Anytime

MAVTV Watch Anytime

Watch MAVTV anytime on your favorite device!

National Medal of Honor Museum
Schlieper Stars in First Series Win in Two Years at Hagerstown


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Schlieper Stars in First Series Win in Two Years at Hagerstown

HAGERSTOWN, MD (July 31, 2010) – Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, WI grabbed the lead on lap 16 and never looked back as he went on to win his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event since 2008 on Saturday Night at Hagerstown Speedway. Schlieper earned $10,000 for an emotional win. He crossed the finish line ahead of Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN; Dan Stone of Thompson, PA; Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN, and John Blankenship of Williamson, WV.

“It’s been a long dry spell,” said the veteran driver in Lucas Oil Victory Lane. “We’ve had a tough year and it feels great to be back in victory lane, this track [Hagerstown] has always been a thorn in our side, we put on four new Hoosier tires for the feature after talking with Scott. I have to thank Rockstar Energy Drink, DART, Pro Power Racing Engines and Bloomquist Race Cars; and my crew chief, Jason Palubicki.”

O’Neal took the lead from his outside pole starting position and led the first 15 laps of the race. Schlieper fell back to third early on behind Dan Stone. Schlieper passed Stone after a restart on lap 15 and a lap later passed O’Neal around the outside coming down the frontstretch to take over the lead.

Schlieper then waited through one more caution flag as he remained unchallenged over the final 34 laps to take the win. His last Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory was July 3, 2008 at Muskingum County Speedway in Zanesville, OH. Tonight’s win for Schlieper was the fifth series triumph of his career.

O’Neal in the Independence Lumber, Roush-Yates Racing Engines, MasterSbilt Monte Carlo SS came home in second. Stone had his best career series finish in his NEP Wireless, Cornett Racing Engines, Rocket Chassis, placing third. Points’ leader Scott Bloomquist, in his Miller Brothers Construction, Roush-Yates Racing Engines, Bloomquist Race Cars Chevrolet, was fourth. Rounding out the top five was Blankenship in the Coal America’s Energy, Cornett Racing Engines, Rocket Chassis.

Completing the top ten were Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL; Jason Covert of York Haven, PA; Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC; Eric Wells of Hazard, KY; and Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA.

In preliminary action Don O’Neal was the Red Buck Cigars Fast Qualifier among the 39 entrants. Heat race winners were Dan Schlieper, Dan Stone, Don O’Neal and Scott Bloomquist. The B-mains were taken by Tim Isenberg and Jimmy Owens.

CORRECTION - From Thursday Night’s event at Utica-Rome, Dale McDowell was the PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race. McDowell started 18th and finished 3rd in the event, advancing 15 positions. It was originally reported that Steve Casebolt was the hard charger of the race.

The next Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event will be 28th Annual Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100 Presented by Lucas Oil. The event will pay $50,000 to win and will be held on August 13th and 14th. There will be a practice session on Thursday Afternoon, August 13th. For more information, check out

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log on to or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday Night, July 31st, 2010
Hagerstown Speedway – Hagerstown, MD

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time: Don O’Neal / 19.721 seconds (Overall and Group B); Chris Wall / 19.758 seconds (Group A)

Wiles Driveshaft’s First Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Dan Schlieper, Dale McDowell, Eric Wells, Devin Friese, Tim Isenberg, Jerry Bard, Brad neat, Richard Walls, Jack Pencil, Chris Wall

AFCO Racing Products Second Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Daniel Stone, J.T. Spence, Vic Coffey, Gary Stuhler, Rusty Sites, Scott Lebarron, Alan Sagi, Marvin Winters, Booper Bare, Kirk Baker

Allstar Performance Third Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Don O’Neal, Ray Cook, John Blankenship, Brian Booze, Roy Deese Jr., Al Shawver Jr., Mike Lupfer, Tyler Reddick, DJ Myers-DNS, Jeremy Miller-DNS

Superflow Fourth Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson Jr., Jason Covert, Jamie Lathroum, Jimmy Owens, Ronnie DeHaven Jr., Frank Plessinger, Tyler Hershey, Steve Casebolt

Hawk Brake First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Tim Isenberg, Brad Neat, Alan Sagi, Booper Bare, Rusty Sites, Scott LeBarron, Jerry Bard, Chris Wall, Richard Walls, Kirk Baker, Marvin Winters, Jack Pencil-DNS

Performance Rod and Custom (PRC) Second B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Jimmy Owens, Ronnie DeHaven Jr., Roy Deese Jr., Al Shawver Jr., Frank Plessinger, Tyler Hershey, Tyler Reddick, Mike Lupfer, Steve Casebolt, DJ Myers-DNS, Jeremy Miller-DNS

Feature Finish – 50 Laps: 1. S9-Dan Schlieper[1]; 2. 71-Don O'Neal[2]; 3. 21D-Dan Stone[3]; 4. 0-Scott Bloomquist[4]; 5. 23-John Blankenship[10]; 6. 44-Earl Pearson Jr[8]; 7. 43A-Jason Covert[12]; 8. 53-Ray Cook[6]; 9. 18E-Eric Wells[9]; 10. 17M-Dale McDowell[5]; 11. 20-Jimmy Owens[18]; 12. 32C-Vic Coffey[11]; 13. 6-Jamie Lathroum[16]; 14. 9T-Tim Isenberg[17]; 15. 91-JT Spence[7]; 16. 41N-Brad Neat[19]; 17. 81-Alan Sagi[21]; 18. C9-Steve Casebolt[23]; 19. 71W-Chris Wall[24]; 20. 9P-Frank Plessinger Jr[25]; 21. 12-Devin Friese[13]; 22. B2-Brian Booze[14]; 23. 7-Gary Stuhler[15]; 24. 05-Roy Deese Jr[22]; 25. 1D-Ronnie Dehaven Jr[20]

Race Statistics
Entrants: 39
Lap Leaders: Don O’Neal (Laps 1-15); Dan Schlieper (Laps 16-50)
Caution Flags: Ronnie DeHaven Jr. (Lap 14); Brian Booze (Lap 41)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Steve Casebolt, Chris Wall
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: none
Hagerstown Speedway Track Provisional: Frank Plessinger
PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race: Jimmy Owens (Started 18th; Finished 11th; Advanced 7 positions)
Ohlin’s Shocks Performer of the Race: Don O’Neal
K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Dan Schlieper
Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: Eric Wells
Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Pro Power Racing Engines
Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award: Eric Wells Crew Chief of the Race: Jason Palubicki (Dan Schlieper)
Time of Race: 25 minutes, 07 seconds

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News
Live Timing

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign up to get news and updates in your inbox.

Sign Up

Championship Points

Championship Points

Official Merchandise

Merchandise Shop Now

TV Schedule

Full TV Schedule