Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
2024 Schedule

2024 Schedule

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 2024 Schedule

Buzz E-Bike

Buzz E-Bike

Register to win a Buzz Electric Bicycle

Dave Warren Powersports

Dave Warren Powersports

Register to win a Segway SxS from Dave Warren Powersports

MAVTV Watch Anytime

MAVTV Watch Anytime

Watch MAVTV anytime on your favorite device!

National Medal of Honor Museum
O’Neal Seals the Deal in Winning Series Event at Bluegrass Speedway


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

O’Neal Seals the Deal in Winning Series Event at Bluegrass Speedway

BARDSTOWN, KY (August 28, 2010- Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN won his second Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event of the season on Saturday Night at Bluegrass Speedway. The win was also his second career "Bluegrass Classic." O'Neal led all 50 laps to finally make it to victory lane after he had led in five of the previous seven events he has entered. Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN chased O'Neal for most of the race to finish second, followed by 11th starting, Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA; Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN; and Brady Smith of Solon Springs, WI.

"It's about time we got back to victory lane," said O'Neal, who earned $10,000 for the win. "We have always run well here, and tonight this was a new car we brought out. I can't thank Tader Masters enough for his support, we have run really well over the last month and had nothing to show for it, so I'll savor this win for a while," said O'Neal, who claimed his 14th career Lucas Oil Series win.

"I want to thank my sponsors, Independence Lumber, Superior Cleaning, Scott Clippinger, Sunoco Race Fuels, Jay Dickens at Roush-Yates Engines and of course, MasterSbilt Race Cars. The car drove great all night. I could hear Marlar a few times and saw his number on the scoreboard and I knew he would give us a good clean race."

O'Neal, who started on the pole, was a rocketship all night long as he got the advantage over Bloomquist heading into turn one on the opening circuit. Marlar was able to get by Bloomquist on lap six. He challenged O'Neal several times; just as began to catch the tail-end of the field, the caution flag came out.

O'Neal held a two to three car length lead in the final ten laps as he outran Marlar to the checkers, scoring his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win since February at East Bay Raceway Park. Marlar in the Wells Racing, Rocket Chassis was able to hold off Birkhofer in the Hilton Head National, MB Customs entry for the runner-up spot.

Completing the top ten were Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC; Brad Neat of Dunnville, KY; Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA; Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN; and Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL.

In preliminary action O'Neal was the Red Buck Cigars Fast Qualifier with a lap of 14.772 seconds, narrowly missing his current track record by a mere two-tenths of a second. There were 34 entrants on hand for the event. Heat race winners were O'Neal, Mike Marlar, Scott Bloomquist, and Brady Smith. The B-Mains were won by Scott James and Shane Clanton.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be back in action this upcoming Labor Day Weekend with two events. On Friday and Saturday, September 3rd and 4th the series heads to Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, OH for the Pepsi 75 River Days Rumble. On Friday Night there will be Red Buck Cigar Time Trials and Heat Races. Saturday will see the B-Mains along with the $20,000 to win main event. On Sunday, September 5th the LOLMDS will be at West Virginia Motor Speedway in Mineral Wells, WV for the 42nd Annual Hillbilly Hundred paying $42,000 to win.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log on to or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday Night, August 28th, 2010
"10th Annual Bluegrass Classic"
Bluegrass Speedway - Bardstown, KY

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time: Don O'Neal / 14.772 seconds (Overall and Group A); Scott Bloomquist / 14.961 seconds (Group B)

Wiles Driveshaft's First Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Don O'Neal, Jimmy Owens, Chris Wall, Tim Isenberg, Matt Miller, Dan Schlieper, Joey Daniel, Doodle Farris, Freddy Smith

AFCO Racing Products Second Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Mike Marlar, Brad neat, Brian Birkhofer, Dale McDowell, Scott James, Steve Casebolt, Tim Rivers, Jeff Watson

Allstar Performance Third Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Scott Bloomquist, Steve Francis, Eric Wells, Ray Cook, Aaron Hatton, Victor Lee, Dustin Neat, Brandon Kinzer, Chris Stilwell

Superflow Fourth Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Brady Smith, John Blankenship, Justin Rattliff, Tim Tungate, Shane Clanton, Tyler Reddick, Lee DeVasier, Earl Pearson Jr.

Hawk Brake First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Scott James, Matt Miller, Steve Casebolt, Dan Schlieper, Joey Daniel, Jeff Watson, Tim Rivers, Doodle Farris, Freddy Smith

Performance Rod and Custom (PRC) Second B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Shane Clanton, Dustin Neat, Brandon Kinzer, Victor Lee, Lee Devasier, Aaron Hatton, Chris Stilwell, Tyler Reddick, Earl Pearson Jr.-DNS

Feature Finish - 50 Laps: 1. 71-Don O'Neal[1]; 2. 36-Mike Marlar[3]; 3. 15B-Brian Birkhofer[11]; 4. 0-Scott Bloomquist[2]; 5. 2-Brady Smith[4]; 6. 53-Ray Cook[14]; 7. 41N-Brad Neat[7]; 8. 17M-Dale McDowell[15]; 9. 20-Jimmy Owens[5]; 10. 44-Earl Pearson Jr[23]; 11. 7-Matt Miller[19]; 12. 71W-Chris Wall[9]; 13. 25N-Dustin Neat[20]; 14. 25C-Shane Clanton[18]; 15. C9-Steve Casebolt[21]; 16. 18E-Eric Wells[10]; 17. 15-Steve Francis[6]; 18. 18K-Brandon Kinzer[22]; 19. 23-John Blankenship[8]; 20. 9T-Tim Isenberg[13]; 21. F11-Jeff Watson[25]; 22. 18T-Tim Tungate[16]; 23. S9-Dan Schlieper[24]; 24. 16-Justin Rattliff[12]; 25. 5X-Lee DeVasier[26]; 26. S44-Scott James[17]

Race Statistics
Entrants: 34
Lap Leaders: Don O'Neal (Laps 1-50)
Caution Flags: Scott James (Lap 10); Eric Wells (Lap 21); Tim Isenberg, Steve Francis (Lap 33); Dan Schlieper (Lap 37); Eric Wells (Lap 42)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Earl Pearson Jr., Dan Schlieper
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: none
Bluegrass Speedway Track Provisionals: Jeff Watson, Lee DeVasier
PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race: Earl Pearson Jr. (Started 23rd; Finished 10th; Advanced 13 positions)
Ohlin's Shocks Performer of the Race: Mike Marlar
K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Brian Birkhofer
Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: Chris Wall
Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Roush Yates Racing Engines
Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award: Tim Isenberg Crew Chief of the Race: Tader Masters (Don O'Neal)
Time of Race: 41 minutes, 57 seconds

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News
Live Timing

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign up to get news and updates in your inbox.

Sign Up

Championship Points

Championship Points

Official Merchandise

Merchandise Shop Now

TV Schedule

Full TV Schedule