Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
2024 Schedule

2024 Schedule

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 2024 Schedule

Buzz Through Education

Buzz Through Education

Register for a $5,000 scholarship to UNOH!

Dave Warren Powersports

Dave Warren Powersports

Register to win a Segway SxS from Dave Warren Powersports

Buzz E-Bike

Buzz E-Bike

Register to win a Buzz Electric Bicycle

Most Popular Driver

Most Popular Driver

Vote for your favorite Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series driver!

National Medal of Honor Museum
McDowell Takes First Series Win of the Season at Lawrenceburg


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

McDowell Takes First Series Win of the Season at Lawrenceburg

LAWRENCEBURG, IN (August 27, 2010) - Leading all 50-laps, Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA held off a furious late-race-charge to take home the win in front of an enormous crowd at Lawrenceburg Speedway. Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA and Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN closed to within striking distance of McDowell, but could not overtake the leader. The win was worth $10,000 for McDowell in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned event. It was McDowell’s first series win of the 2010 LOLMDS season. Trailing the trio to the finish line were Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL and Quarter Master Rookie of the Year Candidate, Eric Wells of Hazard, KY.

“Man it feels good to finally make it to victory lane this year,” said the 44-year-old veteran, who drives for NASCAR’s Clint Bowyer. “Caleb [Baker] and Tommy [Grecco] have worked their tails off this year and they deserve much of the credit for this win. We started off good tonight by setting fast time, winning our heat and starting on the pole,” said McDowell. “I have to thank Dollar General, Cheerios, General Mills, and Bugles. I also have to give a lot of credit to ECR Racing Engines and Warrior Race Cars; this is their second Lucas Oil win in a row.”

McDowell bolted to the lead at the start of the feature. He and Don O’Neal ran one-two for the first 33 laps of the race, until O’Neal brushed the wall in turn four, causing the #71 MasterSbilt house-car to lose several spots in the running order. The winner of last year’s event at Lawrenceburg, Brian Birkhofer, started tenth and was up to second after O’Neal’s brush with the wall.

Owens made tremendous headway through the pack and joined the leaders as the 13th place starter battled with 4-time series champion, Earl Pearson Jr. Owens cleared Pearson for third with 11 laps to go. He then set his sights on the duo of McDowell and Birkhofer. The three frontrunners made the crowd rise to their feet as they battled around the 3/8ths mile oval. McDowell took the win by two car lengths over Birkhofer.

“I was racing hard there with Jimmy at the end,” said Birkhofer, who drives the J&J Steel, MB Customs sponsored machine. “I pulled alongside of Dale, but I just couldn’t get enough momentum on the bottom to pass him. That was a very good race and I hope the fans enjoyed that.” Owens, in the Mike Reece, Reece Monument Company, Bloomquist Race Cars Ford Fusion came home third and cut the Lucas Oil Championship Point’s Lead of Scott Bloomquist down to only 140 points.

Completing the top ten were Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN; Shane Clanton of Fayetteville, GA; Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN; Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC; and Tim Isenberg of Marshfield, WI.

In preliminary action, McDowell was the Red Buck Cigars Fast Qualifier with a lap of 14.826 seconds among the 39 entrants on hand. Heat race winners were McDowell, Tyler Reddick, Tim Isenberg, and Don O’Neal. The B-Mains were taken by Brad Neat and Chris Wall.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series returns to Bluegrass Speedway in Bardstown, KY for the 10th Annual Bluegrass Classic tomorrow night, August 28th. For more information, log onto

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log on to or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday Night, August 27th, 2010
Lawrenceburg Speedway – Lawrenceburg, IN

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time: Dale McDowell/ 14.826 seconds (Overall and Group A); Eric Wells / 14.859 seconds (Group B)

Wiles Driveshaft’s First Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Dale McDowell, Zack Dohm, Brandon Kinzer, Jimmy Owens, Dustin Neat, Ray Cook, John Mason, Greg Johnson, Scott James, Duane Chamberlain-DNS

AFCO Racing Products Second Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Tyler Reddick, Earl Pearson Jr., Dan Schlieper, Eddie Carrier Jr., Brad Neat, John Blankenship, Rick Combs, D.J. Wells, Mike Marlar

Allstar Performance Third Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Tim Isenberg, Eric Wells, Brian Birkhofer, Victor Lee, Justin Rattliff, Wayne Chinn, Chris Wall, Robby Hensley, Daniel Williams, Brian Gray

Superflow Fourth Heat (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Don O’Neal, Scott Bloomquist, Steve Casebolt, Matt Miller, Joe Janowski, Kyle Bates, Shane Clanton, Mike Bores, Tim Rivers, Jason Jameson

Hawk Brake First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Brad Neat, Ray Cook, John Blankenship, Dustin Neat, John Mason, Rick Combs, Greg Johnson, Scott James, D.J. Wells-DNS, Mike Marlar-DNS, Duane Chamberlain-DNS

Performance Rod and Custom (PRC) Second B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Chris Wall, Shane Clanton, Justin Rattliff, Tim Rivers, Robby Hensley, Daniel Williams, Brian Gray, Joe Janowski, Mike Bores, Wayne Chinn, Kyle Bates, Jason Jameson-DNS

Feature Finish – 50 Laps: 1. 17M-Dale McDowell[1]; 2. 15B-Brian Birkhofer[10]; 3. 20-Jimmy Owens[13]; 4. 44-Earl Pearson Jr[7]; 5. 18E-Eric Wells[6]; 6. 71-Don O'Neal[4]; 7. 25C-Shane Clanton[20]; 8. 0-Scott Bloomquist[8]; 9. 53-Ray Cook[19]; 10. 9T-Tim Isenberg[2]; 11. C9-Steve Casebolt[12]; 12. S9-Dan Schlieper[11]; 13. 23-John Blankenship[21]; 14. 11T-Tyler Reddick[3]; 15. 41N-Brad Neat[17]; 16. 16-Justin Rattliff[22]; 17. 71W-Chris Wall[18]; 18. 17D-Zack Dohm[5]; 19. 28-Eddie Carrier Jr[15]; 20. 18K-Brandon Kinzer[9]; 21. 88-Victor Lee[14]; 22. 18X-Mike Marlar[23]; 23. 7-Matt Miller[16]; 24. S44-Scott James[24]

Race Statistics
Entrants: 39
Lap Leaders: Dale McDowell (Laps 1-50)
Caution Flags: Scott James (Lap 9); Chris Wall (Lap 31)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: none
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: none
Red Buck Fast Time Provisionals: Mike Marlar, Scott James
PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race: Shane Clanton (Started 20th; Finished 7th; Advanced 13 positions)
Ohlin’s Shocks Performer of the Race: Tim Isenberg
K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Tyler Reddick
Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: Eric Wells
Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race: ECR Racing Engines
Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award: Mike Marlar Crew Chief of the Race: Tommy Grecco (Dale McDowell)
Time of Race: 22 minutes, 27 seconds

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News
Live Timing

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign up to get news and updates in your inbox.

Sign Up

Championship Points

Championship Points

Official Merchandise

Merchandise Shop Now

TV Schedule

Full TV Schedule