Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
2024 Schedule

2024 Schedule

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 2024 Schedule

Buzz E-Bike

Buzz E-Bike

Register to win a Buzz Electric Bicycle

Dave Warren Powersports

Dave Warren Powersports

Register to win a Segway SxS from Dave Warren Powersports

MAVTV Watch Anytime

MAVTV Watch Anytime

Watch MAVTV anytime on your favorite device!

Bloomquist Takes Sixth Series Win at Utica-Rome Speedway


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Bloomquist Takes Sixth Series Win at Utica-Rome Speedway

VERNON,NY (July 29, 2010) – Defending series champion, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN withstood a one-lap shootout with Ray cook of Brasstown, NC to win his sixth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event of the season. The win took place on Thursday Night at Utica-Rome Speedway. Bloomquist earned $10,000 for the 492nd win of his illustrious career. Cook, last year’s series winner at the track, finished second after starting in ninth. Eighteenth starting Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA finished third, followed by Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL and John Blankenship of Williamson, WV.

“Here tonight, the car was about as perfect as it gets,” exclaimed the 46-year-old driver, “last year, after the American Racer tires beat us, Hoosier went to work and had a great tire for us tonight. I wasn’t really nervous on that last restart, because I knew Ray would run me clean. It would have been a shame to lose the race on the last lap after the night we had”.

Bloomquist dominated the field for a majority of the race. He already held nearly a half-a-lap lead over Cook when the caution came out with seven laps to go. Bloomquist then had to be patient through two more cautions in the final two circuits, setting up a one-lap dash to the finish. As Cook tried valiantly to steal the win from Bloomquist, he was able to outrun the #53 into turn one on the final lap. He went on to score the win and extend his series points lead over Jimmy Owens. The engine erupted in flames after the fuel line came off on lap ten while Owens was running second, ending his night.

“I have to thank Bob and Barb Miller, Miller Brothers Construction, Hawkeye Trucking, of course the Roush-Yates Engine ran superb, and all the crew, Tommy (Hicks) and everybody else,” said the winner. “They [crew] do a great job, and with the tough competition on this series you have to be on top of your game night in and night out to stay up front. We gained a lot of points tonight on Jimmy and we look forward to coming back up here. This is a very good race track and the fans treated us just super”.

Cook in the D&R Racing owned MasterSbilt captured the win at Utica-Rome a year ago, but could not quite overcome his ninth starting spot as he crossed the line behind Bloomquist. McDowell in the Clint Bowyer Racing, Dollar General sponsored Warrior Impala SS salvaged a credible night after the battery lost power in his car during the heat race. He was relegated to an outside ninth-row starting spot and came home third followed by Pearson in the Bobby Labonte Racing; Lucas Oil Products sponsored MasterSbilt Dodge Charger. Blankenship, in the Don Blankenship, Coal America’s Energy Rocket was fifth.

Completing the top ten were Billy Decker of Unadilla, NY; Steve Casebolt of Richmond, IN; Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN; Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA; and Tim Isenberg of Marshfield, WI.

In preliminary action, Bloomquist was the fastest qualifier among the 26 entrants in the Red Buck Cigars Time Trials. Heat race winners were Bloomquist, Pearson, and Blankenship. Dan Schlieper took the B-Main win. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be back in action this Saturday Night, July 31st at Frank Plessinger’s Hagerstown Speedway in Hagerstown, MD. The event will pay $10,000 to win. For more information, go to

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log on to or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Thursday Night, July 29th, 2010
Utica-Rome Speedway – Vernon, NY

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time: Scott Bloomquist / 17.809 seconds (Overall and Group B); John Blankenship / 18.155 seconds (Group A)

Wiles Driveshaft’s First Heat (10 Laps- Top 6 Advance): Scott Bloomquist, Vic Coffey, Brad Neat, Billy Decker, Don O’Neal, David Zona, Tim Devendorf, Dale Caswell, Justin Wright

AFCO Racing Products Second Heat (10 Laps- Top 6 Advance): Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens, Daniel Stone, Chris Wall, Tim Isenberg, Tyler Reddick, Dan Schlieper, Joseph August, Steve Casebolt-DNS

Allstar Performance Third Heat (10 Laps- Top 6 Advance): John Blankenship, Eric Wells, Ray Cook, Dylan Yoder, Jon Rohacevich, Dale McDowell, James Cornell, Larry Wight

Hawk Brake First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Dan Schlieper, Steve Casebolt, Tim Devendorf, Dale Caswell, James Cornell, Justin Wright, Larry Wight, Joseph August

Feature Finish – 50 Laps: 1. 0-Scott Bloomquist[1]; 2. 53-Ray Cook[9]; 3. 17M-Dale McDowell[18]; 4. 44-Earl Pearson Jr[2]; 5. 23-John Blankenship[3]; 6. 91-Billy Decker[10]; 7. C9-Steve Casebolt[20]; 8. 71-Don O'Neal[13]; 9. 11T-Tyler Reddick[17]; 10. 9T-Tim Isenberg[14]; 11. 41N-Brad Neat[7]; 12. 32-Dylan Yoder[12]; 13. 2-Tim Devendorf[21]; 14. S9-Dan Schlieper[19]; 15. 32C-Vic Coffey[4]; 16. 47-Joseph August Jr[24]; 17. 71W-Chris Wall[11]; 18. 21D-Dan Stone[8]; 19. R19-Dale Caswell[22]; 20. 13B-James Cornell[23]; 21. 24J-Jon Rohacevich[15]; 22. 20-Jimmy Owens[5]; 23. 99Z-David Zona[16]; 24. 18E-Eric Wells[6]

Race Statistics
Entrants: 26 Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1-50)
Caution Flags: Eric Wells, Daniel Stone (Lap 1); Eric Wells (Lap 5); Jimmy Owens (Lap 10); Jon Rohacevic (Lap 13); Daniel Stone (Lap 23); Chris Wall (Lap 41); Joseph August (Lap 48); Vic Coffey (Lap 49)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: NONE
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: NONE
Fast Time Provisionals: Joseph August, James Cornell
PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race: Dale McDowell (Started 18th; Finished 3rd; Advanced 15 positions)
Ohlin’s Shocks Performer of the Race: Scott Bloomquist
K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Steve Casebolt
Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: Tim Isenberg
Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Roush-Yates Racing Engines
Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award: Chris Wall Crew Chief of the Race: Tommy Grecco (Dale McDowell)
Time of Race: 47 minutes, 53 seconds

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News
Live Timing

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign up to get news and updates in your inbox.

Sign Up

Championship Points

Championship Points

Official Merchandise

Merchandise Shop Now

TV Schedule

Full TV Schedule