Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
2024 Schedule

2024 Schedule

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 2024 Schedule

Buzz Through Education

Buzz Through Education

Register for a $5,000 scholarship to UNOH!

Dave Warren Powersports

Dave Warren Powersports

Register to win a Segway SxS from Dave Warren Powersports

Buzz E-Bike

Buzz E-Bike

Register to win a Buzz Electric Bicycle

Most Popular Driver

Most Popular Driver

Vote for your favorite Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series driver!

Casey Roberts Takes Advantage of McDowell’s Misfortune to Claim First Career Series Win


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Casey Roberts Takes Advantage of McDowell’s Misfortune to Claim First Career Series Win

SWAINSBORO, GA(June 18, 2009)– Taking advantage of a final lap Dale McDowell flat tire, Performance Rod and Custom Fast Time driver Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Georgia made the outside pass for his first career Lucas Oil Dirt Late Model Series win. Roberts, who won his heat race, held off LOLMDS Point Leader Scott Bloomquist for the second spot over the waning laps. But as the leaders approached a gaggle of cars including Don O’Neal, Roberts moved up to the outside to find a way around McDowell for the lead. Bloomquist took the second spot when Roberts slid high exiting turn four. McDowell finally cleared O’Neal as the Indiana driver cut down his right rear tire. The bottle neck effect caused a near miss with Roberts and Bloomquist, but the veterans were able to avoid disaster. O’Neal’s handicapped machine brought out the caution when he rolled to a stop at the bottom of turn four.

When the field went back to green flag racing, McDowell was firmly in command. With just under ten laps remaining McDowell opened up a five car length advantage which was washed away with only three laps remaining. The yellow flag waved once again when Ed Basey lost a right rear tire on the front straightaway. The final caution set up a green, white and checkers finish. When McDowell took the final green flag, he was unable to get away from Roberts. As the leaders spilled onto the back straightaway for the final time, McDowell’s right rear went flat. Roberts made the evasive outside pass and then held off Bloomquist for the $7000 payday.

“Man this is great. We had a great car for sure. As soon as we fired on that initial start I knew Dale (McDowell) was on softer tires than we were. We kind of gambled and it paid off. I said to myself on the first lap that I was going to ride it out and hope that he used his stuff up. I need to thank Mr. Cushman for a giving me such great equipment and the chance to drive for him. And I need to really thank Randy Clary for such a great motor. And our Victory Circle Car by Billy Moyer has been really good too. I appreciate everybody hanging in here and getting this race in. It is definitely one of the biggest wins of my career, “ said a very happy Casey Roberts in the Lucas Oil Victory Lane.

To find out more about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log on to or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Thursday Night, June 18, 2009
Swainsboro Raceway – Swainsboro, GA

PRC Fast Time: Casey Roberts/ 15.249 seconds

Hawk Brake First Heat (10 Laps-Top 6 Advance): Casey Roberts, Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson Jr., Ben Faircloth, Don O’Neal, Shon Flanary, Jimmy Owens, Michael Walker, Daniel Baggerly

Hawk Brake Second Heat (10 Laps-Top 6 Advance): Dale McDowell, Josh McGuire, Brad Neat, Eric Jacobsen, David Breazeale, Freddy Smith, Ches-ley Dixon, Mike Nasworthy, Tommy Gandy

AFCO Racing Products Third Heat (10 Laps-Top 6 Advance): Steve Casebolt, Jonathan Davenport, Ed Basey, Dan Schlieper, Ray Cook, John Blankenship, Jeremy Faircloth, Henry Carter, Brian Nuttall, Dennis Franklin-DQ

Mason Racin’ Rebel Shock Dyno First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Jimmy Owens, Mike Nasworthy, Ches-ley Dixon, Henry Carter, Dennis Franklin, Daniel Baggerly, Brian Nuttall, Michael Walker, Tommy Gandy, Benji Cole, Jeremy Faircloth-DNS

Feature Finish (40 Laps): Casey Roberts, Scott Bloomquist, Dale McDowell, Steve Casebolt, Josh McGuire, Earl Pearson Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Brad Neat, Eric Jacobsen, Dan Schlieper, Ray Cook, Freddy Smith, Jimmy Owens, Don O’Neal, David Breazeale, John Blankenship, Henry Carter, Shon Flanary, Mike Nasworthy, Michael Walker, Ed basey, Ches-ley Dixon, Ben Faircloth, Jeremy Faircloth

Race Statistics
Entries: 29
Caution Flags: Michael Walker, Henry Carter (Lap 2); Don O’Neal (Lap 37); Ed Basey (Lap 38) Lap Leaders: Dale McDowell (Lap 1-39); Casey Roberts (Lap 40)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisional: Michael Walker
Fast Time Provisional: Jeremy Faircloth
PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race: Jimmy Owens
Allstar Performance Performer of the Race: Casey Roberts
K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Freddy Smith
Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: David Breazeale
Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Randy Clary Racing Engines
Time of the Race: 22 minutes 28 seconds

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News
Live Timing

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign up to get news and updates in your inbox.

Sign Up

Championship Points

Championship Points

Official Merchandise

Merchandise Shop Now

TV Schedule

Full TV Schedule