Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
2024 Schedule

2024 Schedule

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series 2024 Schedule

Buzz Through Education

Buzz Through Education

Register for a $5,000 scholarship to UNOH!

Dave Warren Powersports

Dave Warren Powersports

Register to win a Segway SxS from Dave Warren Powersports

Buzz E-Bike

Buzz E-Bike

Register to win a Buzz Electric Bicycle

Most Popular Driver

Most Popular Driver

Vote for your favorite Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series driver!

Brad Neat Takes Back-up Car to First Career Series Win at Duck River on Thursday Night


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Brad Neat Takes Back-up Car to First Career Series Win at Duck River on Thursday Night

WHEEL, TN (June 11, 2009) – After damaging his primary car last weekend at Eldora Speedway Brad Neat of Dunnville, KY climbed into 4-time and defending series champion Earl Pearson Jr.’s back-up MasterSbilt Chassis that “The Hurricane” drove last year to the championship. Neat led every lap of the 35-lap Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at Duck River Speedway on Thursday Night as the 2009 Summer Sizzler Tour kicked off. Wendell Wallace finished second followed by Chris Wall, Tony Knowles and Anthony Burroughs.

After waiting through two rain delays the feature started with Neat and Burroughs on the front row of the $7000 to win main event. Neat jumped out in front in the early going taking the lead on the first lap. Fourth place starting Wendell Wallace climbed to second at the start. Neat then started to set a rapid fire pace as he began to catch up to the tail end of the field by lap seven.

The top five in the running order before the first caution of the race came out were Neat, Wallace, Tony Knowles, Chris Wall and Scott Bloomquist. On the restart, Neat again pulled away from the field extending his lead over Wallace and Knowles who were battling for second. Bloomquist then started to move closer to the front as he passed Wall on lap 12 and two laps later he overhauled Knowles for third.

With 16 laps in the record books, Neat was out in front by eight car lengths over Wallace. Bloomquist was breathing down Wallace’s neck in the race for second. Dale McDowell who was running inside the top ten brought out the third and final caution with a flat tire with 24 laps complete.

On what would turn out to be the final restart of the race, Neat led Wallace, Bloomquist, Wall and Knowles to the green flag to complete the last eleven circuits. Then on lap 27, Bloomquist, who came into the event the series points leader, slowed coming off of turn number two with a smoking car as he headed to infield. Bloomquist ended his night where he could have opened up some distance in the points chase.

With Bloomquist sidelined, that left the race for the win between Neat and Wallace, but Neat pulled away in the final laps as he went on to score his first career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win, becoming the 12th different winner in 16 races this season.

In the Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the very first time Neat, who is a graduate of the University of Kentucky was savoring one of the biggest wins of his career. “I can’t thank my crew enough, they worked their tails off this week getting this car ready, we went down to Bobby’s (Labonte) shop on Monday, we wrecked our primary car in a heat race at Eldora last week and we worked all week to get ready for tonight, thanks to Earl and his crew for their help; without their assistance as well we wouldn’t be standing here,” said the 29- year- old who climbed to seventh in the points with his win.

Neat, who earned the pole position after winning the first heat race was really appreciative of the track staff, Lucas Oil officials and the fans that stayed through two rain delays. “This is a dedicated crew here, it looked like it was sold out here tonight, thanks to the fans for staying put and I hope they enjoyed the racing here tonight, we’ll enjoy this win for a while, it’s a long weekend and we’ll go back to work for the next race.”

Neat’s borrowed MasterSbilt Race Car Chassis is powered by a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsored by T&T Energy, NWN Distributing, Tarter and Roberts Insurance, B&B Motorsports, Tri-County Wood, Tarter Gate and Sunoco Race Fuels.

Wallace finished second in the Bob Harris owned Preferred Sandblasting/Vic Hill Racing Engines/GRT Race Cars with Chris Wall coming home third in his C&M Gator Farm/Wall2WallPerformance Engines/MasterSbilt by Stuckey Monte Carlo SS. Fourth place was Tony Knowles in his SAE Parts/Custom Race Engines/Rocket Chassis with Anthony Burroughs completing the top five in ABC Cash Register Company/Wall2Wall Performance Engines/MasterSbilt by Stuckey Monte Carlo SS.

Completing the top ten were Steve Casebolt, Jay Brinkley, Shane Clanton, Eric Jacobsen and Freddy Smith.

Scott Bloomquist topped the 38 car field in PRC Time Trials with a lap of 13.098 seconds. Heat race winners were Brad Neat, Bub McCool, Anthony Burroughs and Wendell Wallace. The B-mains were won by Don O’Neal and Tommy Kerr. Ray Cook took the PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race as he started 24th and finished 14th advancing ten positions.

To find out more about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log on to or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Thursday Night, June 11, 2009
Duck River Speedway – Wheel, TN

PRC Fast Time: Scott Bloomquist/ 13.098 seconds

Hawk Brake First Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Brad Neat, Tony Knowles, Steve Casebolt, Eric Jacobsen, Don O’Neal, Earl Pearson Jr., Dan Schlieper, Ray Cook, Jeff Walker, Eric Hickerson

Hawk Brake Second Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Bub McCool, Chris Wall, Daniel Miller, Terry Phillips, Todd Morrow, Jeremy Payne, Levi Ashby, Thomas White, John Blankenship

AFCO Racing Products Third Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Anthony Burroughs, Scott Bloomquist, Shane Clanton, Michael Walker, Brandon Kinzer, Robert Stutts, Donald Johns, Jimmy Owens, David Breazeale, Brandon King

Tiger Rear Ends Fourth Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Wendell Wallace, Jay Brinkley, Freddy Smith, Dale McDowell, Tommy Kerr, Daniel Baggerly, Kayne Hickman, David Gentry, Josh McGuire

Mason Racin’ Rebel Shock Dyno First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Don O’Neal, Earl Pearson Jr., Jeremy Payne, Todd Morrow, Dan Schlieper, Ray Cook, Jeff Walker, Eric Hickerson, John Blankenship, Levi Ashby, Thomas White-DNS

Wiles Drive Shafts Second B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Tommy Kerr, Brandon Kinzer, Josh McGuire, David Breazeale, Donald Johns, Daniel Baggerly, Kayne Hickman, Roberts Stutts, Jimmy Owens-DNS, David Gentry-DNS, Brandon King-DNS

Feature Finish (35 Laps): Brad Neat, Wendell Wallace, Chris Wall, Tony Knowles, Anthony Burroughs, Steve Casebolt, Jay Brinkley, Shane Clanton, Eric Jacobsen, Freddy Smith, Don O’Neal, Earl Pearson Jr., Terry Phillips, Ray Cook, Josh McGuire, Dale McDowell, John Blankenship, Jeremy Payne, Brandon Kinzer, Michael Walker, Jeff Walker, Scott Bloomquist, Daniel Miller, Jimmy Owens, Tommy Kerr, Bub McCool

Race Statistics
Entries: 38
Caution Flags: Jimmy Owens (Lap 8); Tommy Kerr (Lap 9); Dale McDowell (Lap 24) Lap Leaders: Brad Neat (1-35)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Jimmy Owens, Ray Cook
Emergency Provisional: John Blankenship
PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race: Ray Cook
Allstar Performance Performer of the Race: Brad Neat
K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Chris Wall
Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: John Blankenship
Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines
Time of the Race: 26 minutes 11 seconds

Submitted By: Jeremy Shields

Back to News
Live Timing

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Sign up to get news and updates in your inbox.

Sign Up

Championship Points

Championship Points

Official Merchandise

Merchandise Shop Now

TV Schedule

Full TV Schedule